Doomed Riders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Comprehensive tanking guide for warriors (part 1)

Go down

Comprehensive tanking guide for warriors (part 1) Empty Comprehensive tanking guide for warriors (part 1)

Post  Buculus Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:42 am

I found this tanking guide on wow forums. Person who put up this post was unsure how wrote it in the first place so big thanks to whoever you are Smile

Here we go:

Warrior tank guide

The first thing we must talk about is the multiple functions of a tank, and this guide will review only the ones of the Warrior class, considering that I have little experience with the Paladin class, and even less with the Feral or Druid class.

A tank is what a player becomes when he finds himself holding threat (or aggro) of a certain Mob or Monster, and taking it's damage, preventing the other players of the party or raid from taking direct damage. That would be my definition anyway, and it can often change depending of the fight. There are two "known" jobs in which a tank can perform:

Main Tanking:
Basically, the "Tank" job, you will be directly responsible for the security of your group, through mitigation, positioning, and making sure to hold enough threat so that other players in your raid can do as much damage as they can without getting aggro. Truth must be said, sometimes this position is quite wanted by some people in order to gain a kind of "fame" or "respect". If you intend to do this job, leave that aside, and concentrate on doing your job the best that you can for your group.